I’m writing a book…

…about the music and the music industry in 2010.  About where things stand now, how we got here, and where we’re going.  2010 is such an important time in the history of music (music and genres are defined by the decade, after all) and the music industry (quite literally there may be one less major label next week).

I’m going to be driving across the country and Mexico looking for answers, talking to bands large and small, label managers, record store clerks, venue owners, and music fans of all types.  The end result of what I hope to produce will be equal parts Chuck Klosterman’s Killing Yourself To Live and Alexis de Tocqueville’s Democracy In America.

I’ve created a page on the fantastic Kickstarter for my book.  I’d urge you to check it out and share it with anybody you feel may be interested.

One response to “I’m writing a book…

  1. Wow – that’s great and good luck – but I just found your blog and I hope you keep it up. Your flow chart on social networking was referenced in OurStage.com and then I worked my way back to this blog. Which looks like you’ve taken a break. Your Kickstarter page says you’ll be coming through Nashville. Can I buy y’all a cup of coffee? And tell you about a music bidness workaround we’re coming up with? Good luck — speaking of road trips, you might want to check out Doug Brinkley’s (he’s Hunter S. Thompson’s literary executor and a really cool guy) THE MAJIC BUS: AN AMERICAN ODYSSEY

Leave a Reply

