Is Music “Worthless” Feedback…

Because I was recieving a lot of negative feedback on my last post, where I said that I believed that music is now “worthless”, I decided to ask Chris Anderson, Editor-in-Chief of Wired Magazine and author of The Long Tail if what he thought of my hypothesis.  His reply:

Although your point is generally right, you made a rhetorical error by equating “value” and “price”. Just because something has no price doesn’t mean it has no value. Indeed, in the non-monetary economies of attention and reputation, it may be valued very highly. In short, your mistake was using “worthless” too loosely–to quote The Princess Bride, “I do not think that word means what you think it means.” ;-)

This is a common error, and I address it one chapter in the book.

Chris Anderson’s next book, out this summer, is called FREE  and is about the economics of Free.  It is my most eagerly anticipated book of the year.   Thanks so much to Chris for responding and so quickly (in ten minutes!).  

Check out the comments by Jermey Meyes and David Rose on the previous post for some interesting critisism of the post.

One response to “Is Music “Worthless” Feedback…

  1. Well sure, dude basically rewrote what i said with a different quote :)

Leave a Reply

